CNS Directory

Principal Investigator

Tyrone D. Cannon, Ph.D.

Curriculum Vitae

Email: tyrone.cannon@yale.edu

Tyrone D. Cannon is Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry at Yale University. Dr. Cannon earned his bachelor¹s degree at Dartmouth College (1985) and his doctoral degree at the University of Southern California (1990). He spent a year in clinical training at the UCLA Neuropsychiatric Institute (1990-1991), before taking his first academic appointment in the Department of Psychology at the University of Pennsylvania, where he advanced to associate professor. He joined the faculty at UCLA in 1999, where he was the Staglin Family Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry & Biobehavioral Sciences, before moving to Yale in 2012. Dr. Cannon¹s research aims to discover the genetic and neural mechanisms underlying schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and to develop treatment and prevention strategies. His studies have a particular emphasis on gestational (pre- and perinatal) and adolescent periods of brain development and integrate molecular biological and neuroimaging approaches in unique populations, including twins discordant for these conditions, individuals at risk for imminent onset of psychosis, and selected members of large prospectively evaluated birth cohorts.

Office:
SSS 2D
1 Prospect St.
New Haven, CT 06511

Mailing Address:
Yale University
PO BOX 208205
New Haven, CT 06520

Post Doctoral Fellows

Kristen Haut, Ph.D.

Email: kristen.haut@yale.edu

Graduate Students

Yoonho Chung

Email: yoonho.chung@yale.edu

Yoonho Chung’s research utilizes multimodal neuroimaging techniques, genomics and behavioral assessments to understand how genetic variation contributes to individual differences in both typical and atypical brain development. His current research focuses on examining how brain structures and functions change over time among prodromal and early psychosis patients. He is also interested in incorporating biological indicators of mental disease process with current clinical assessments to predict risk for developing psychosis and other neurodevelopmental disorders.

Rebecca Fortgang

Email: rebecca.fortgang@yale.edu

My research is focused on cognitive and temperamental phenomena that span psychiatric disorders. I am interested in understanding how these overlapping and dimensional features of psychopathology help us understand the etiology and boundaries of specific disorders.  In particular, I am focused on impulsivity and sensation seeking across disorders, the heritability and genetic underpinnings of these traits, and their relationship to suicide. 

Amanda Zheutlin

Email: amanda.zheutlin@yale.edu

I’m interested in how genetic variation confers risk for schizophrenia via influence on cognitive, heritable aspects of the disorder, such as memory, processing speed, and executive function. To investigate this, I employ complimentary studies with respect to methodology (e.g., structural genetics, gene expression, fMRI, neurocognitive measures) and design (e.g., psychiatric twin datasets, large samples of healthy individuals) to identify neurobiological pathways that are particularly vulnerable in high-risk individuals and may contribute to the development of psychopathology.  

Research Lab Staff

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Peter Beckwith

Email: beckwith.p@husky.neu.edu

Natalie Marshman

Email: nlmarshman@gmail.com

Amin Mirzadegan

Email: amin.mirzadegan@yale.edu

Silvie Saltzman

Email: silvie.saltzman@yale.edu

Maria Seravalli

Email: maria.seravalli@yale.edu

Dzelila Siljak

Email: dzelila.siljak@yale.edu